Cty Cllr John O'Reilly

John is the Surrey County Councillor for Hersham and Conservative candidate for Weybridge St George's Hill at the Elmbridge local elections on 2 May.

John is a retired oil industry executive and a local resident for over 30 years. He has been a Councillor over many years and has always tried to provide a first-class service to the residents he has been privileged to represent. In 2017, he was elected the Surrey County

Councillor for part of Weybridge St George’s Hill, including the treasure of Whiteley Village. He is now seeking your support to serve the entire ward on Elmbridge Borough Council and work closely with Cllr Charu Sood and County Councillor Tim Oliver.

John is absolutely committed to preserving the unique quality of St George’s Hill. Of course, affordable housing for young families and others is much needed but he will oppose all inappropriate development and resolutely support our precious Green Belt.

The state of some of St George’s Hill roads is appalling and this must be addressed as a key priority. John will use all his ‘lobbying power’ and influence to secure timely improvements.

Our Community Park in Brooklands is so popular and we should improve access by installing dropped kerbs close to the entrance to minimize the present danger and inconvenience. I am pleased that funding has been agreed for a toilet. And we must continue the pressure on Mercedes to reopen the bridges at Sandilands.

John writes: “I will make your priorities my priorities. I’ll listen and am always accessible, rarely far away from the phone or e-mail and also active on social media. In my role as a Councillor, I’ve helped many residents with serious problems on housing, parking, roads and planning. Finding solutions for such concerns, often the cause of real anxiety, is the most rewarding part of serving my community.”

During his successful election campaign in 2017, John said: “I represented Hersham on Elmbridge Borough Council for 11 years, serving as its leader for six years, protecting services, increasing grants to the voluntary sector and freezing council tax for four years. Parking and the state of Hersham’s roads are among my top priorities. I will not over-promise and under-deliver but will fight for Hersham to receive a fair share of limited resources."

John adds: "I will work tirelessly in the interests of every part of our flourishing community, Hersham Village itself, Burwood Park, Longmore and Whiteley Village. And that means forging close links and cooperation with the Borough Councillors representing Hersham. Our local schools, businesses, the hugely popular Hersham Youth Centre, our fantastic Library and voluntary groups will all receive my enthusiastic support."

Key issue: Road improvements

John says: "£100,000 for Road Improvements It is essential that promised improvements to the roads and traffic management in Weybridge St George’s Hill take place soon. Residents are tired of waiting. For example, the top end of St George’s Avenue desperately needs full resurfacing. Money has been allocated by the M3 Local Enterprise Partnership but the work must be delivered promptly. My County Councillor role will help here.

"I am delighted that Elmbridge Borough Council has agreed £100,000 to meet the requests from residents in the Triangle for HGV bans, 20 MPH speed limits and changes in Princes Road and Pine Grove. These are most welcome and I will be pressing hard for early implementation."

John's 6-Point Plan for Weybridge St. George’s Hill

  1. Protecting Our Unique Environment. Weybridge St George’s Hill is one of Elmbridge’s most desirable places to live and we must keep it that way. This means firmly resisting inappropriate development and enhancing our many green spaces.
  2. Improving Our Roads. Some progress on resurfacing has taken place (e.g. Haines Bridge and Seven Hills Road) but more needs doing. Priority One is completing St George’s Avenue and we must have action from the Brooklands Traffic Study to combat congestion.
  3. Ending Our Station Nightmare. I completely support our campaign to have the ramp to Brooklands Road re-opened. We must keep the pressure on South Western Railway to fulfil their obligations.
  4. Supporting Our Businesses. Thriving local enterprises and shops are essential to a prospering local community. The prospect of funding for a feasibility study for the Hospital and Library sites must be used well to boost our local businesses.
  5. Sustaining Our Community. St George’s Hill enjoys a rich variety of volunteers and groups who do so much to make lives better. Whiteley Village is a jewel in our crown and its residents will always have my support.
  6. Renewing Our Health Facilities. We have to seize the opportunity of redevelopment in Weybridge Town Centre to make sure that first class medical provision is maintained as a replacement for the former Walk-In Centre.